Mario Movie: First Trailer Will Be Shown at New York Comic Con

It'll premiere on October 6th.

This post might contain affiliation links. If you buy something through this post, the publisher may get a share of the sale.

The first trailer for the upcoming Super Mario movie, starring Chris Pratt in the title role, will be shown at New York Comic-Con next month.

Announced on Twitter (below), the first teaser trailer for the film will premiere at the convention. It will be shown on October 6 at 1pm Pacific / 4pm Eastern / 9pm UK.

For those attending NYCC in person, the convention's official website notes that the trailer will be shown at the Empire Stage

Originally announced back in 2018, Super Mario: The Movie is being produced by Nintendo and Illumination. The film would resurface again during the September 2021 Nintendo Direct, where Mario creator Shigeru Miyamoto announced the film's cast, which includes Chris Pratt as the titular character. Others cast in the film include Charlie Day as Luigi, Anya Taylor-Joy as Princess Peach, and Jack Black as Bowser. 

The film was originally set to release in December 2022. However, Universal Pictures announced earlier this year that the film's release date had been pushed back to April 7, 2023, in North America.


Taylor is the Associate Tech Editor at IGN. You can follow her on Twitter @TayNixster.

This post might contain affiliation links. If you buy something through this post, the publisher may get a share of the sale.
In This Article